You may not know it: printing ink is not vegan. It is made from animal by-products such as gelatin. The Japanese company Ricoh now offers an alternative with its first vegetable oil-based ink. Something to please the vegan public, as well as businesses and consumers concerned about their environmental impact.
Why is printing ink not vegan?
The ink generally contains animal by-products such as gelatin, which is obtained by boiling animal skins, ligaments and bones in water. It also often contains glycerin, which is made from animal fat. Culture V† finally teaches us that the ink is sometimes composed of animal bone charcoal, or a shellac made of beetles.
It is also downstream of production that inks have an impact on the environment: biocides (ie chemicals intended to fight living organisms) are often used to ensure their preservation. Finally, the ink emits volatile organic compounds when printing.
A more virtuous alternative
Ink is a product found in many of our consumer products, especially through packaging. To meet the demand from brands and printers increasingly concerned about their impact on the environment, Ricoh, one of the leading international manufacturers of printing systems, is launching its first vegan ink.
The Japanese company’s new ink targets consumer graphics as well as packaging printing. Composed of vegetable oil, it is also odorless and free of biocides. The emission of volatile organic compounds is limited.
Finally, it is a less energy-intensive product, as it requires less ink and dries faster.
An initiative that will certainly make a good impression!